Home Inmate Roster Most Wanted Press Releases Sex Offenders Contact Us
St. Mary Parish Sheriff's Office
E-Newsletter FAQs History of the Sheriff Hot Cases Employment Calendar
Content Divider
History of the Sheriff's Office - Click photo for more information

Sheriff Mark A. Hebert
Term: 2011- 2018

St. Mary Parish Sheriff Mark Hebert is a 34 and 1/2 year veteran of the St. Mary Parish Sheriff’s Office. He began his career in law enforcement in 1983 patrolling St. Mary Parish. Over the next 20 years, Hebert became shift supervisor, worked as a Special Weapons and Tactics (SWAT) agent, was promoted to Lieutenant, and reached the rank of Major acting as Warden in charge of the Corrections Division. Hebert was instrumental in developing one of the first pilot programs for re-entry in the nation. He instituted a full time GED program and implemented the St. Mary Parish Work Release Program. In 2006 Hebert assumed the duties of overseeing the Criminal Investigation Division which included all criminal cases, juvenile cases, D.A.R.E., school resource officers and warrants. In January of 2011, Hebert was promoted to Chief Deputy before being appointed as interim sheriff in July of 2011. Hebert won the confidence of St. Mary Parish voters becoming the elected sheriff in October 2011. Sheriff Hebert was re-elected to office in October 2015. Sheriff Hebert retired in January of 2018.


Sheriff Mark A. Hebert
Term: 2011- 2018

Sheriff Scott Anslum
Term: 2018

Sheriff David A. Naquin
Term: 1996-2010

Sheriff Huey P. Bourgeois
Term: 1984-1996

Sheriff Chester C. Baudoin
Term: 1964-1984

Sheriff Mrs. J.B. Shaw
Term: 1963-1964

Sheriff J.B. "Buck" Shaw
Term: 1952-1963

Sheriff Mrs. Guy G. Aycock
Term: 1949-1952

Sheriff Dr. Guy G. Aycock
Term: 1940-1949

Sheriff Charles L. Pecot
Term: 1916-1940

Sheriff Wilson T. Peterman
Term: 1908-1916

Sheriff John B. Sanders
Term: 1900-1908

Sheriff Paul Pecot
Term: 1895-1900

Sheriff Alexandre G. Frere
Term: 1884-1895

Sheriff John A. O'Niell
Term: 1871-1873

Sheriff James R. Jolley
Term: 1870-1871

Sheriff William Haifleigh
Term: 1851-1865 and 1885-1889

Sheriff Jared Young Sanders
Term: 1818-1821
Content Divider Content Divider
Crime Tip Hotline - 337-828-1960 or 985-384-1622 - Submit via Email
Emergency - 911, Phone 337-828-1960 or 985-384-1622